The Science of Hatha Yoga And Eight Limbs

Hatha Yoga – A very famous form of yoga is often practiced by people all over the world. When it comes to health and fitness, this is something that can’t be skipped and must practice this so classical and ancient art form which is powerful to prepare our body to explore full potential.

It is said that Hatha yoga is not an exercise, but it is more than understanding the body, creating a certain atmosphere, and then with the help of the best body postures drive energy in specific directions. 

Hatha yoga is all about directing our energies so that we can experience yoga along with the union and boundlessness. In other words, this is the way to overcome our body’s imbalanced energy to balance state. This oldest form of yoga posture is authentic to establish a harmony between the body and soul.  This is called the yoga tradition which is familiar to the western culture and its regular practice helps to unite the active and receptive qualities.

Moving up with Hatha yoga means one needs to care for physical alignment and breathing control to achieve a balance between the active body and its universe.

Its daily practice helps in offering physical strength, physiological health and emotional well-being, hence practising the same allows us to reach higher nature is a yoga asana. Yoga teacher training Course is a great way to learn yoga and meditation

The Eight Limbs of Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga is a traditional yoga known for a perfect balance, flexibility, and strength. One can achieve full control over to his/her internal and external spirit by doing it in the correct manner. It is also associated with the best yoga poses and breath control exercises. However, there are 6 other elements, or limbs are involved in the full enjoyment of the discipline.

The 8 limbs of Hatha yoga are: 


This is known as for ethical behaviour Niyama or the spiritual practice Asana. It is the first limb, which generally deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of honesty, hence focuses on our behaviour.

Yama is all about how we manage or spend our life and associated with universal practices, which must be good for you and others. It is a medium of self-purification. There are 4 Yamas are- nonviolence, truthfulness, non-stealing and continence.


This is the second limb which is related with the self-discipline and spiritual observances. This is called a daily schedule, like we regularly visit the temple, prayer before meals, developing our own personal meditation practices, all are examples of Niyama. Niyama is a one kind of discipline set by our society or ourselves. This is obeyed by us to keep maintain some kind of discipline in our lives. The 5 Niyamas are- Cleanliness, heat, and spiritual austerities, contentment, the study of the sacred scriptures and surrender to God. 


This is all about related to the postures which are usually practised in yoga. It is believed that our body is the temple and we should care for the same, hence via different asanas. We can develop the habit of discipline and the ability to focus on one thing. Asana is art of yoga that establish harmony in your life.


It is all about breathing techniques and helps to teach people with the efficient respiratory process while recognizing the connection between the breath, the mind, and the emotions. One can proceed with the same by simply sitting and performing a number of breathing exercises. This asana is a good medium to balance energy and stabilizes moods.  


This is generally called as a withdrawal of the senses or takes you away from regular or day to day distractions of life.

With the help of the same one can expect to see our internal processes, such as cravings, emotions and resistance so that we can focus on meeting the same. 

Users Also Read: How to Gain Weight Naturally at Home


It is completed associated with the concentration that can easily be done by not focusing on outside distractions. This limb ensures that the mind can be focused on a point, idea or object by eliminating the double thought.


This is called as uninterrupted awareness, which is different from Dharana- one-pointed attention. Dhyana is generally known for the mind which is fully aware or mindful without focus. It provides great consciousness, and calm down our mind.



 It is referred to as enlightenment and a kind of mediator comes to realize a connection to the divine, interconnectedness with all living things. For those who want to be a yoga practitioner should prefer Hatha yoga at once to experience the ancient form of yoga.  We hope now you know the science of Hatha Yoga and Eight Limbs & If you want to become a certified yoga teacher and start your own yoga school then you can join the 200-hour yoga teacher training course in Rishikesh and start your new career.


Ujjawal Poonia

Ujjawal Poonia is a Google Certified Web Developer, who is currently working at Biz Glide Web Solutions as a Senior Web Developer. He loves to explore new places and share his experience through the blogs.

Related Articles

Back to top button